G33K Out: The 2017 Writers of the Future Awards


Note: this article was also published on SciFi4Me.com.

Episode 22: The 2017 Writers of the Future Awards

On April 2, I attended the 33rd annual Writers of the Future Award ceremony. With a dragon gracing the red carpet and the stage. the ceremony had a keynote from the co-founder and president of Dragon*Con Pat Henry, and presented this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award to Mike Resnick.

The 12 writers and illustrators received this year’s awards, with Jake Marley winning the Golden Pen Award for his submission “Acquisition”, and Michael Michera winning the Golden Brush Award for his illustration that went with C.L. Kagmi’s story, “The Drake Equation”.

The podcast combines some of the interviews I managed to get while attending and excerpts from the award ceremony.

Basic show notes:

  • Running time is 30 minutes, 15 seconds.
  • The main interviews were all recorded on April 2, 2017. I managed to interview the following:
  • You can view the entire Writers of the Future Award ceremony (as well as past ceremonies) on their YouTube channel.
  • For more information about the Writers of the Future Award, including ordering a copy of the 33rd annual publication, visit the official website.
  • Mid-show plug is from composer Marco Beltrami. More information on him can be found onĀ his website.
  • Theme music is “Schoolyard Haze”, by Jari Pitkanen, available via the Free Music Archive.
  • This podcast is released under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share-Alike license.
  • Interested in hearing other episodes of G33K Out? Check them out here.

And now, it’s time to geek out.

Created with flickr slideshow.